Thursday, 19 January 2017

Rat Columns & Feature albums coming out on Upset The Rhythm soon!

Upset The Rhythm are ecstatic to announce two new albums that we’ll be releasing over the coming months! Rat Columns have a new album called ‘Candle Power’ due out in March, whilst Feature’s debut record ‘Banishing Ritual’ will be released in early April! You can listen to tracks from both records and pre-order both titles in our webshop, as of now!

Rat Columns is the mutable musical project of David West, an artist as prolific as he is diverse in his output. West is the driving force behind the groups Rank/Xerox, Liberation and Lace Curtain, he was also a member of Total Control, and most recently debuted a solo album proper. Whether its forward-facing punk or turning his hand to crafting sleek prisms of pop, West’s credentials check out. ‘Candle Power’ sees the band’s universe of chiming guitar plenitude explode into new worlds of colour and shade. It’s an album as happy to walk home in the rain as it is to reel dizzily through daylight, tunnelling further than ever down the pop mainline, cutting in with moments of soul, disco and experimental plots.

Feature were, as they are sadly no more active, a trio of drone-pop purveyors: Liv Willars, Jen Calleja (also of Sauna Youth, Monotony, Gold Foil) and Heather Perkins (also of Slowcoaches). Their stunning debut album ‘Banishing Ritual’ stakes out minimal, menacing punk terrain alongside a fast flowing river of melodious garage-pop. Calleja’s lyrics are sparse narratives: a love song for a twin consumed in the womb, the stalking of a doppelganger, a tongue-in-cheek look at jealousy and bitter competitiveness. Though Calleja provides a leading vocal throughout, all three members sing on most songs to create unmatchable and unexpected vocal harmonies, plus friend and fellow London DIY musician Joey Fourr provides his immense vocal range on two tracks.


No comments: